Just. Say. No.

I’ve been on the BBC iplayer beta programme. This evening I uninstalled it. Here’s why:

  1. It was crappy.  It lacks the polish of a professional product such as, say, my GCSE computing project.
  2. It was creepy. (Why is it always in my task bar? What the hell is “Kontiki”? Why must I watch this programme in the next 7 days?  Will my computer assplode? Yuk.)
  3. It goes against pretty much everything the BBC should stand for. Did any of the nutless goons involved in this project actually read the charter?
  4. I can get everything I want from bittorrent. (erm, UKNova anyone?)

The sad/surprising thing is how the iPlayer debacle affected my attitude to the BBC. One month ago I was a staunch advocate of Aunty. Now I’d vote to abolish the licence fee. That’s quite a shift!

Sometimes it is better to do nothing than a bad thing. The whole thing makes me feel all wrong inside. I’m self-hugging right now.

Aunty: you’re dead to me.

2 Responses

  1. Mister, can you put up your picture of the ATM with the Windows picture showing on it? It’s one of my favourites and seems to resonate with your theme of computer gizzards being taken over (or not) with abominable programmes.

  2. I think I’ll do a whole post about that one at some point..!

Leave a comment