If you love your iPod, set it free.

I’ve had an ipod for about 18 months. Perhaps surprisingly for a gadget fiend, this was my first mp3 player. Of course I’d been aware of them since the “Rio Player” back in ’99 but I suffer from a laughably protracted gadget decision-making & buying cycle.

Pod and I have had a tempestuous time together – although we have just stumbled upon some stability. A potted relationship history:

  • Bought in April 2006 before I started spending my working week away from my mp3 collection.
  • Almost instantly sent back due to disappointing sound quality. Remedied through some decent replacement headphones.
  • iTunes on the PC was such an absolute travesty that it almost went back again, until I discovered Anapod Explorer which allowed me to negotiate directly with my neatly categorised collection of mp3s rather than having to go via the the mangling medium that is iTunes. Worth the $25 at the time, I felt.

But I was frustrated by my inability to update my ipod from anywhere other than my “home” PC. No good if you’re staying in London all week, ripping entire discographies down from bittorrent using your idiot neighbour’s unsecured Wifi connection. (Yes, I’m speaking to you, Mr Netgear of Kentish Town.) Schlepping my ill-gotten gains back home on a memory stick before being able to update my Pod seemed entirely pointless but unfortunately a necessary exercise.

And then something great happened. I discovered Rockbox.

Rockbox is a completely different operating system for your iPod. (Works on quite a few other mp3 players, too.) It’s been a revelation and I wish I’d seen it sooner.

A summary of benefits:

  • A smug sense of satisfaction knowing that I’m well and truly out of the clutches of Steve Jobs and the music lobby. My ipod is now mine and I can do with it what the hell I want.
  • The ability to update my mp3 collection from any machine I can cram a USB cable into. Heck, I even store my mp3 ripping software on my ipod in case I want to rip on the road. It just functions like a big phat 60gb USB memory stick.
  • Nice fade up/down effect when you pause, un-pause, or turn it off.
  • Freedom to play lots of different formats (mp3 & 4, audiophile flac, lovely ogg, even vile wma.)
  • It uses folders! Just like my mp3 collection! So whilst I have tidied up the tags, it’s considerably quicker to get to stuff.
  • Gapless playback. If you listen only to popular young people’s music, this might not be a problem. But when you’re listening to a Bach Magnificat or an opera the micro-stutter between tracks really irks.
  • If you’ve got a microphone, you can use it as a capacious dictaphone that creates mp3s. (Apparently with a decent mic you can do good gig recordings, too.)
  • Almost infinitely expandable and update-able.

There are a team of lovely geeks working on Rockbox, even as we speak. It gets better over time. I can update the software easily and for free. Or extend it with many weird and wonderful things – such as a ZX Spectrum emulator. (I played Chuckie Egg on the train this week and it put a proper nostalgic grin on my face.)

A few downsides:

  • You can’t play any music you bought off iTunes. But that serves you right for being conned into buying a licence to play rather than the real deal – suckerz!
  • It can’t cope with album art as of yet, but that doesn’t really bug me so much.
  • The default “skin” is rather ugly, but changing it to something more pleasant is easy. And when you get bored, you can change it again.
  • You lose the standard contacts and calendar. I’m sure there are open source replacements but I never used them anyway.

So there you have it. Oh, did I mention you can play Doom, too?

12 Responses

  1. hi,
    I have an ipod question. I record lectires on my ipod, and want to upload them onto my wordpress blog. Do you have any idea how to do this? I need a step by step answer. Thanks!

  2. Hmm, well you can definitely record using Rockbox – although obviously you’ll need to invest in a microphone to plug into your ipod.

    Once you’ve got yourself an MP3 file, I’d have a look at something like http://www.libsyn.com/ which will effectively host your podcast and let you insert a link into your wordpress blog.

    But I’ve never done either of those things so please take my advice with a pinch of salt…

  3. Thanks for the speedy and helpful reply.

  4. On Anapod Explorer, if you’ve bought it you can register your iPod on any number of computers, I have it installed on four or five computers, completely legitimately registered and all, for just the $25.

    I’ve been looking into replacing the OS on mine, the ‘voiding of the warranty’ doesn’t really bother me. An apple warranty is worth less than an i.o.u. from a gambler. My hold button busted after I’d had mine for 3 months, due to normal wear and tear, and they told me the warranty doesn’t cover physical faults.

    I’ve been looking at linux for iPod, apparently you can run it over the top of the native firmware and uninstall it on whim. Might be a good idea to give it a go.

  5. Yep, same as Rockbox – you can un-install pretty easily. I’ll check it out, thanks.

    (I did try to get Anapod working on my other machine but it never seemed to work. Was also a little buggy; would often crash half way through a total update which was frustrating. I’ll admit it was faster at transfer than the Rockbox method, though.)

  6. Well, to be brutally honest, I had a massive problem with it, though I think it was more accurately a problem with communication between iTunes and Anapod Explorer. I had to ‘recover lost tracks’, because they weren’t coming up, and after having done so, the iPod froze iTunes. I disconnected it, and iTunes worked fine, but on looking through the iPod’s menu, found that many songs had been magically re-interpreted by the iPod as videos or audiobooks, and others had been deleted from the menu altogether. I basically had to use Anapod to copy everything off the iPod, as it could still see all the songs, and re-import them. It was fine after that, but fuck, it was a hassle.

    I heard from a friend today that rockbox can also be easily removed. And it looks substantially more sophisticated than any iPod linux distros. I think I’ll give it a go.

  7. With Anapod I had to regularly wipe my Ipod clean and re-transfer the lot; and it would regularly get its knickers in a twist with say 5% of the tunes. But yes, Rockbox is way more usable than iPod linux. Give it a go and let me know how you get on!

  8. Interim update:

    There’s no stable release for the video yet, so I’m relying on daily builds, and today’s had a serious bug; initializing the database (which is crucial before anything else can happen, of course) incurs a ‘data abort’ and the software crashes. Others were having the same problem too from the looks of things on the irc chatroom, so I’m sure it’s not my iPod.

    Not to worry, uninstalling is easy with ipodpatcher, and I’ll check back in a few days for another build.

  9. Unlucky! Not sure I’ve even used the db function; I just browse the file structure and play direct. But definitely appears to be work in progress.

  10. I ended up downloading a week-old build which didn’t have the bug, and it works great! I’ve been fiddling around a lot with the look today, fonts, backgrounds, and all the rest of it. I’ve come up with, and am happy with this (I’m not a communist as such, I just like soviet design).

  11. Oh that is truly superb! Any chance I can steal your theme? Although I’ll have to disable when I go through US customs and immigration on Saturday or they might not let me in…

  12. No worries. Send me an email and I’ll reply with the appropriate files.

Leave a comment